The City of Seven Wonders is what we often called to Flagstaff City located in Arizona. Obviously surrounded by amazing Wonders is like the Grand Canyon, Wupatki National Monument, Walnut Canyon, Sunset Crater National Monument, Oak Creek Canyon, the San Francisco Peaks and it sits in the midst of the Coconino National Forest.
Edward Whipple, the first settler in the area established a saloon close to a spring in the year 1971 located along an old wagon road to California. On the other hand, F.F. McMillen another pioneer settled in the year 1876 in the north of what we call now Flagstaff City. The land area is rich in game, water as well as limbering opportunities. Other civilian even started sheep and cattle ranching downtown.
Stripping a lone pine tree and by turning it into an amazing flagpole, is how Flagstaff obtained its name. The city used to have several names like the first one Antelope Spring, afterwards, turns out to be Flagstaff and then another name was Old Town. There are several versions of history on how the city got its name. In the year 1882, the pacific and Atlantic railroad came through, but now we called it Santa Fe. There were approximately 10 constructed buildings in Old Town, but they decided to move nearby to the new railroad depot. Oldest Town in no time at all developed when they established the post office new the new train depot, assuming the Flagstaff's name. The cattle business, including the lumber started to thrive with the new railroad, making assurance of its community growth.
The Arizona Lumber and Timber Company was established by three fascinating brothers named Denis, Tim and Michael Riordan. They were the first businessmen who take advantage of the profit from the lumber business. Tim and Michael stayed in the community and offered an essential contribution to the town's development when their brother Denis decided to move to California. One of the progress made was having electricity to the buildings and to Flagstaff close by Lake Mary.
The Arizona Territorial Assembly in the year 1891 established the Coconino County. Flagstaff carry the day over the nearby Williams when an election was held to resolve the stable country seat. When the local citizens started to overrun the close by Indian ruins, Michael Riordan took an extensive interest to it. A word about the ruins spread out, frightening scale of looting and alarming destruction started to happen. Right away, the newly established Flagstaff Chamber of Commerce prosecuted the devastation of the cliff residence. After all, no official step was taken to take care of the ruins, until the year 1904, the ruins turn to be part of the San Francisco Mountain Forest Preserve.
The University of Northern Arizona in the year 1899 was created and the City of Flagstaff soon turned to be the Northern Arizona's center. In mid 1900's, Seven Wonders grown into a well-known and one of the biggest industry are the tourism. Flagstaff keeps on growing at a nice slow and steady pace.
John Weatherford is one of the influential citizens living in Flagstaff, who used to establish a hotel opened on January 1, 1900, called Hotel Weatherford. After extensive restoration of the old hotel, it still continues to operate until today, the hotel has welcomed the two most important people in the past which are both presidents and gunslingers of the Wild West. John Weatherford opened the Majestic Opera House in the year 1911, an amazing and very fascinating construction which the first movie was shown to Flagstaff residents.
A number of motor courts, nice diners and auto services sprouted up along the new highway, when Route 66 was established in the city of Flagstaff. Today, along its historic downtown district, the city still have several vintage cafes and motor courts. Nowadays, several of this historic business is still operating, just like the one based at 1700 E Route 66 Frontier Motel with its peaceful yellow lantern, the vintage Wonderland Motel nestles located at 2000, up against the pine covered hills on Route 66. Another model is the one based at 820 W. Route 66 called the Saga Budget Inn Motel with complete bright blue neon sign, as well as the Red roof Inn based at 1526 E Route 66 with its blooming flower filled window boxes, and a lot more.
The Museum Club located at 3404 E. Route 66 is a "must see”, because the building was the first one established by a taxidermist, in the year 1931 named Dean Eldredge. The building was a house with a large collection of stuffed animals made especially for Dean. There are also Indian artifacts and unique rifles. Somehow, five years later, the beautiful building was sold to Doc Williams in the year 1936. Williams is a Flagstaff-saddle maker who made the museum into a night club.
With a small town that has populated over 50,000 peopel, Flagstaff City is one of the greatest place to "relax" yourself and check out the surrounding wonders. It's a home for United Stated Observatories and Lowell Observatory, and has one of the best in the world's archaeological Prehistoric Southwest.